Cheltenham's unique architectural quality came from its rapid development in the 18th and 19th century as a Spa town for wealthy visitors, and Cheltenham Civic Society has long been involved with conserving this heritage. The Society plays a key role in local planning and the decision making process.

The Society is fortunate to have many experienced architects, planners and other building professionals as members. It is able to draw on this expertise on the Planning Forum, and in other discussions on local planning and infrastructure issues.

Civic Awards

Good architecture and restoration of historic buildings are worthy of recognition. Each year Civic Awards are made by Cheltenham Civic Society on behalf of the Borough Council for the encouragement of standards of excellence in the restoration of historic buildings and other works of improvement in Cheltenham's built environment.

There are a number of categories of award:

  • A new building or structure
  • Restoration of a building or structure
  • Improvements to the built or landscape environment
  • A new or restored shopfront
  • A ‘green’ building

Awards Ceremony

The awards ceremony normally takes place in April with an invited presenter and attended by the Mayor.

Full details of the ceremony, the guest presenter and venue will appear under Events a few months before.

Recent presenters:

2019:   George Ferguson CBE PPRIBA RWA
2017:   Dr Simon Bradley, Editor of the Pevsner Guides
2016:   Victoria Thornton, Founder of Open City
2014:   Tom Dykhoff, Architectural Critic and TV Presenter
2013:   Jonathan Glancey, Broadcaster and Architectural Critic
2012:   Sue Illman, President, Landscape Institute
2011:   Angela Brady, President, RIBA


Nominations are invited from any member of the public, building owner, architect or other consultant, or contractor for their own work or that of any other. Information on how to make a nomination can be seen here.

Closing date for receipt of nominations is 31 December each year.

View Past Winning Awards Projects

Download the 2019 Awards Brochure